For manual tests you can change the following settings:

Content settings

  • Selection method: random or fixed-order
  • Maximum number of questions (if random selection order)

Access settings

  • Date and time from which the test is open for students
  • Date and time until the test is open for students (e.g. when does the test closes)
  • Maximum time a student has to complete a test attempt (i.e. duration)
  • Maximum number of attempts a student can take

Test type and content locking

  • Specify the test type (formative or summative)
  • Prevent editing of questions when students have seen them in the test (only available for summative tests)

Student review settings (after submit)

  • Show/hide score feedback for students after submitting their test attemptĀ 
  • Show/hide question feedback for students after submitting their test attempt

Other settings

IMPORTANT: the general closing time of the test will always supersede the duration (including the additional time).
So: at closing time, all attempts will be automatically closed, including the attempts with additional time.

Note: these options are currently only available for manual tests. If you want to change these settings for your automatic test, please reach out to support via the chat icon in the bottom right.

Adjusting settings for a test

To change the settings, go to the edit view of the test. You can get there via two ways:

  1. Click on the test in your course and click on edit in the top right
  2. Go to the repository in which the test is located and click on the test you want to change the settings for.

Below you see an example of the edit view of a manual diagnose.

To change a single setting you take two steps:

  1. Enable the setting by clicking the switch in front of it, such that it turns blue
  2. Indicate the value of the settings

WARNING: Don't forget to save the test after changing the settings!

Note: to make sure you indicate a valid date and time, please use the menu which opens if you click the input box.

Formative versus Summative

For summative testing within Grasple additional contractual agreements are required. Please contact support to discuss the options and availability of summative testing via Grasple within your organisation.

Prevent editing of questions when used in a test

If you specify that a test is summative you will see an additional setting:

  • "Prevent editing of questions after a student viewed it".

By default this is disabled, but you can enable this to prevent and further changes to questions once they are viewed by a student in this test.

Toggling this setting makes sure that a question is gets locked, i.e. it cannot be edited anymore as soon as a student viewed it in the test. The edit screen only allows the question to be copied. This will only be done when a student has viewed a question, previewing the test as a teacher does not result in a lock.

Allow students to review the results and feedback

As teacher you can determine what students can see after they have submitted their test. You have two options:

  • Show/hide score feedback for students after submitting their test attempt
  • Show/hide question feedback for students after submitting their test attempt

You can change these options at any time (after the test as well), giving you the options to allow student to see the feedback at the moment you want them to.

"Show end score to students"

Enabling the option "Show end score to students" shows their score on a scale of 0 to 100% based on 1 point per main question (i.e. if a student answers all sub-questions correct they receive 1 point in total).

An example of a result screen for a student after they have submitted the test with this option enabled is shown below, where you can see the overall score and points. Disabling this option hides the points and overall score.

"Allow students to review questions"

This option controls whether students can see whether the answers they gave are marked correct or incorrect. In addition you can let them see the feedback you've provided in the question itself (via the detailed solution or answer-rules feedback in the question edit mode).

Disabling this option prevent students from seeing their answers and the questions after they have submitted the test.

Allow students to review questions with their score (no feedback)

Below you see an example what a student can see if you enabled this option and only show the score per question.

Allow students to review questions with their score and feedback

Below you see an example what a student can see if you enabled this option and also show the feedback.

Questions?

If you have any questions regarding the settings, please reach out to support via the chat icon in the bottom right.

Did this answer your question?