In this article you can learn how you can change the content of your course and how you can change the name, description, and default language of your course.
Changing the content of your course
You can add subjects to your course by simply dragging them to your course map.
If you are the teacher of the course, you should see the 'Edit' button on your course overview on the top right.
If you did this correctly, a side-pane opens on the left.
Here you see all the repositories you have access to.
The repositories are divided into three sections:
Your (personal) repositories: these are the repositories you have created or you have been directly invited to.
Organisation repositories: repositories which are accessible within your organisation (e.g. University).
Community repositories: repositories with curated content created by the community and Grasple.
If you click on the arrow in front of a repository, it will open the repository and you can see the subjects it contains.
If you find a subject you want to add to your course, you can simply drag it to your course.
IMPORTANT: Don't forget to save your updated course map by clicking save!
Here's how: click the three lines in front of the subject and hold down the mouse. Now drag the subject to the right place in your course. That's it!
You can also search all your repositories at once. Just type in part of the subject name in the search bar and hit enter. All the subjects that match the term will be displayed. Drag them to your course to add them.
If a subject is already in your course, you will see a checkmark and the font color is grey (indicated by blue circle in image above).
Removing a subject
! IMPORTANT: removing a subject which students already made progress on in your course will remove that progress. If you want to keep the progress, you can replace the subject with your own version. See "Replacing a subject".
When a subject is no longer relevant for your course you can remove it completely. This will not only remove the subject from the view of your students, but it also removes any progress the students made in this subject.
If you want to remove a subject you can click on the trash icon next to the subject:
The subject will not immediately be removed, this happens when you save the course. If you made a mistake you can revert the deletion by clicking the undo button next to the subject. The deleted subject can be recognised by the greyed out name:
Replacing a subject
If you want to make sure students keep the progress they made for a subject you can choose to replace a subject in your course. This can be convenient if you, for example, want to update a subject with a newer version or better version of a subject.
To replace a subject you can click on the replace button next to a subject:
If you have done this, the slot for this subject becomes the only place you can drag a subject to:
Then simply drag-and-drop the new subject to this slot to replace the subject:
Do not forget to save the changes to make sure the replaced subject is available for your students.
Changing the name, description and language of your course
To change the name, description, or default language of your course you need to click the pencil icon behind the current name of your course:
This will bring you to a new screen which allows you to edit the name, the description, and the default language of your course:
After you have updated any of these fields simply press the 'save' button on top to publish the new values.
We are very curious to learn from your experiences. So please let us know if you have any questions or feedback!